Instituto de Estructura de la Materia (IEM - CSIC)
Calle Serrano 113 - 123, ES-28006 MADRID Tel: + 34 91 561 68 00

The department was created in 2011 by merging the experimental groups from the Dpt. of FISICA NUCLEAR Y ESTADISTICA with groups from the Dpt. OF VIBRATIONAL SPECTROSCOPY AND MULTIPHOTON PROCESS. The department of Nuclear and Statistical Physics was created in April 1989 and was composed of the researchers, Javier Bermejo, Elvira Moya, and their groups. The scientific ancestors of the Dept. of Vibrational Spectrocopy & Multiphoton Processes date back to the days of the Junta de Ampliación de Estudios, the precursor of CSIC, through the well known spectroscopist Miguel A. Catalán; later on continuing through the research lines of atomic and molecular spectroscopy after CSIC was founded.

Currently it is structured in three research lines:

The Nuclear physics groups share their interest on the nuclear structure studies done by beta decay or reactions with halo nuclei and in general in the study of exotic nuclei of astrophysical interest. Furthermore they all participate in the design of experiments for FAIR. The experimentalists of Nuclear and Statistical Physics have common interest on the developments of spectrometers and detectors for large scale facilities.
The groups devoted to the Physics and Chemistry of Nanostructures research line have evolved towards the cutting-edge topics on optical spectroscopies and laser-induced processes (including Raman, fluorescence, UV-visible, infrared, emission, and laser-induced breakdown ) applied to nanostructures.